Henry Mayer Book Prize

Henry Mayer Book Prize is awarded biennially to the best book on Australian politics (including political history).

Call for Nominations 2021 (TBA)

  • Call for Nominations 
  • Closing Date for Nominations 
  • Commission of Winner’s Award 

The Henry Mayer Book Prize is awarded on a biennial basis, alternating with the Crisp Prize.

Nomination Guidelines

  • The nomination is open to book-length monographs by academic or non-academic authors, which may be single- or jointly-authored, however edited collections are not eligible. The author does not have to be a current financial member of APSA (although this is preferable) for the book to be eligible for consideration.
  • A call for nominations will be circulated to members of APSA and to the major publishers operating in Australia. Any publisher may nominate one book for consideration, and a book may only be submitted once for the prize. Authors can self-nominate or be nominated by another person.
  • The Prize is awarded to the best book on Australian politics (including political history) that has been published by a university or commercial publisher (in Australia or overseas) in the preceding two years (e.g. The prize awarded in 2021 will be for a book published in 2020 or 2019, year of publication being the year stated in the book). Preference will be given to a monograph that focuses on one or more of Mayer’s special interests: the media, political parties or Indigenous affairs.
  • To enter, please complete the Henry Mayer Book Prize Nomination Form and email with a PDF or four electronic copies (if your copies are download codes or ebooks) of the nominated book to Arts-SSPS-APSA@unimelb.edu.au by the announced due date. Please do not submit anything until the call for nominations is announced.

Judging Process

  • The decision will be made by a judging panel chaired by a member of the APSA Executive. The panel will consist of at least three judges (including the chair), all are APSA current financial members, with at least one woman. Except where such a nomination might give rise to a perceived conflict of interest, the panel will also include a fourth person nominated by the Mayer Trust. Past winners will be encouraged to participate in the judging process for future awards.
  • Members of judging panels should adhere to the Guidance on Identifying and Managing Conflicts of Interest. If the Chair of a judging panel has a significant conflict of interest, they must relinquish their position as Chair to one of the other panellists.
  • APSA reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year.

Award Details

  • The winner will be invited to attend the Association’s annual conference dinner and receive the prize of $1000 and a trophy.
  • This Prize is funded by the Henry Mayer Trust.

Past winners : 

2019: Paul Strangio, Paul ‘T Hart & James Walter, The Pivot of Power: Australian Prime Ministers and Political Leadership, 1949–2016, Melbourne University Press, 2017

2017: Sarah Ferguson & Patricia Drum, The Killing Season Uncut, Melbourne University Press, 2016.

2015: Stephen Mills (University of Sydney), The Professionals: Strategy, Money and the Rise of the Political Campaigner in Australia, Melbourne: Black Inc, 2014.

2013: Paul Strangio (Monash University)Neither Power Nor Glory: 100 Years of Political Labor in Victoria, 1856 – 1956, Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 2012.

2011: James Walter (Monash University), What Were They Thinking? The Politics of Ideas in Australia, Sydney: UNSW Press, 2010.

2009: Joint Prize: Sarah Maddison (University of New South Wales), Black Politics: Inside the Complexity of Aboriginal Political Culture, Crows Nest: Allen & Unwin, 2008;
David McKnight (University of New South Wales), Beyond Right and Left: New Politics and the Culture Wars, Crows Nest: Allen & Unwin, 2007.