APSA Workshop Funding

APSA provides funding each year to assist with the running of two or more eligible workshops proposed by APSA members at their respective Universities.

The call for applications goes out in October each year on both the website and to members via email and newsletter. Applications should only be submitted in response to the announcement of the Call for Applications.

APSA 2022 Workshop Grants is now open!

Eligibility of workshop applicants (all nominated convenors) is restricted to current financial members of APSA. Individual APSA members should be listed as a Convenor on no more than one proposed workshop (although they could be listed as a potential participant in more than one). Specialist groups and sub-committees can only support one bid each per year.

Workshop funding is awarded on a competitive basis. In 2022, funding will be awarded to a standard value of $11,000. In special circumstances, and where appropriate, APSA will consider applications for a higher amount. 

Please contact the APSA National Office at arts-ssps-apsa@unimelb.edu.au for any further inquiries. 

Recent winners of the APSA annual workshop funding 


  • The Competitive Dynamics of Order-Building in the Indo-Pacific: The Belt and Road Initiative Versus the Free and Open Indo-PacificDr Lai-Ha Chan (UTS) and Dr Pak K. Lee (University of Kent, UK)
  • Improving the effectiveness of environmental policy in Australia: using regulation, markets and science to achieve sustainability goalsProf Brian Head (UQ), A/Prof Cassandra Star (Flinders) and A/Prof Joshua Newman (Monash)
  • Perspectives from First Nations Early Career Researchers on the Uluru Statement from the Heart and a constitutionally enshrined First Nations Voice to ParliamentJason O’Neil (UNSW), Delilah MacGillivray (UNSW) and James Blackwell (UNSW)
  • From pioneers to procrastinators? Australian parliaments as gendered workplacesProf Marian Sawer (ANU), Dr Blair Williams (ANU) and Dr Marija Taflaga (ANU)
  • Re-connecting the Administrative State with Political StudiesDr Amanda Smullen (ANU) and Prof Janine O’Flynn (Uni Melbourne)


  • Public policy and Indigenous futures – Prof Sarah Maddison (Melbourne) and Dr Nikki Moodie (Melbourne)
  • The ‘worldmaking’ power of borders and contemporary politics – Dr Christine Agius (Swinburne); Dr Samid Suliman (Griffith) and Dr Umut Ozguc (UNSW)

Three public talks will be held as part of the workshop The ‘Worldmaking’ Power of Borders and Contemporary. Places are limited so please register to attend. Registration link access from here: https://acbsworking.group/the-worldmaking-power-of-borders-and-contemporary-politics/

  • Beyond Constitutional Laws: The Soft Rules of GovernanceDr Zim Nwokora (Deakin); Dr Narelle Miragliotta (Monash) and Dr Nicholas Barry (La Trobe)
  • Political Organisations and the Crisis of Liberal Democracy – Dr Glenn Kefford (Queensland); Prof Duncan McDonnell (Griffith) and Dr Erin O’Brien (QUT)


  • Cassandra Star (Flinders University), Jonathan Pickering (University of Canberra) and Rebecca Pearse (University of Sydney) workshop on ‘Transforming Australia’s resource and energy governance‘. (Final report)
  • Katrina Lee-Koo and Zareh Ghazarian (Monash University) workshop on ‘The gendered dynamics of Australia’s political leadership culture‘. 
  • Prue Brown, Lorraine Cherney and Sarah Warner (University of Queensland) workshop on ‘Public value: what is it, who decides, and has it changed over time?‘.


  • Siobhan O’Sullivan (UNSW), Paul Fawcett (University of Canberra), Tim Legrand (ANU) and Prof Jenny Lewis (University of Melbourne) workshop on ‘Pedagogy and public policy: insights into the practice of teaching public policy, and latest research in field‘.
  • Sarah Maddison (University of Melbourne) and Elizabeth Strakosh (University of Queensland) workshop on ‘Whose politics and which science? rethinking the discipline in the context of Australian settler colonial relationships‘.
  • Michael Clarke (ANU), Matthew Sussex (ANU) and Nick Bisley (La Trobe) workshop on ‘The belt and road initiative and the future of regional order in the Indo-Pacific‘. 
  • Louise Chappell (UNSW), Nicole George (University of Queensland) and Fiona Mackay (University of Edinburgh) workshop on ‘Understanding and addressing institutionalised gender inequality through a feminist institutionalist approach‘. 


  • Abigail Taylor (University of Sydney) and Robin Rodd (James Cook University) workshop on ‘The figure of the citizen in times of crisis: Disappearing, emerging and reimagined


  • Ariadne Vromen (University of Sydney), Darren Halpin (ANU) and Anika Gauja (University of Sydney) workshop on ‘Political Organisations and Participation in the Digital Age
  • Marian Sawer (ANU), Kerryn Baker (ANU) and Kirsty McLaren (ANU) workshop on ‘Gendered innovation in political science

For any further enquiries, please contact the APSA National Office