Crisp Prize

This Prize is awarded biennially to the best scholarly political science monograph written by an APSA member within 10 years of gaining a PhD.

The Crisp Prize is open to APSA members who are resident in Australia. It is awarded on a biennial basis, alternating with the Henry Mayer Book Prize. The next award will be offered in 2020.

Call for Nominations 2020 (Closed for Nominations)

  • Call for Nominations – Friday 22 May 2020 (Any nominations received earlier will not be accepted).
  • Closing Date for Nominations – Friday 26 June 2020. 
  • Winner Announcement – APSA 2020 AGM
  • Commission of Winner’s Trophy and Prize – APSA 2021 Annual Conference Dinner

Nominations can be made by any APSA member (including the author of the book). To enter, please complete the Crisp Prize 2020 Nomination Form and email with a PDF or four electronic copies (if your copies are download codes or ebooks) of the nominated book to do not submit anything until the award is announced.

The winner is decided by a judging panel chaired by a member of the APSA Executive Committee. It will consist of at least three people, all of whom will be members of APSA. Past winners will be encouraged to participate in the judging process for future awards.  

The winner of the prize will be announced at the annual APSA conference dinner, where a prize of A$1000 and a trophy will be awarded.

Please contact the APSA National Office if you have any questions.

Past Winners:

2018: Peter Tangney, Climate Adaptation Policy and Evidence: Understanding the Tensions between Politics and Expertise in Public Policy, Earthscan/Routledge.

Highly Commended: Peter Balint, Respecting Toleration: Traditional Liberalism & Contemporary Diversity, Oxford University Press.

2016: Luke Glanville, Sovereignty and the Responsibility to Protect: A New History, University of Chicago Press.