Postgraduate Conference Paper Prize

Postgraduate Conference Paper Prize is awarded annually to the best conference paper by postgraduate students.

Postgraduate Conference Paper Prize Guideline

The Postgraduate Conference Paper Prize is administered by the conference hosts.

Nomination Guidelines

  • The prize is awarded to the best paper submitted for refereeing prior to the conference by postgraduate students.
  • Each stream coordinator will be invited to nominate the best postgraduate paper from within their stream, informed by referee comments where possible.
  • The nominee must be a current financial member of APSA in the year of nomination.

Judging Process

  • The decision will be made by a judging panel chaired by a member of the conference organising committee. The panel will read and rank the nominated papers, applying the following criteria:
    • Degree of originality
    • use of appropriate sources;
    • coherence of argument;
    • sophistication of analysis; and
  • Members of judging panels should adhere to the Guidance on Identifying and Managing Conflicts of Interest. If the Chair of a judging panel has a significant conflict of interest, they must relinquish their position as Chair to one of the other panellists.
  • APSA reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year.

Award Details

  • The winner will be invited to attend the Association’s annual conference dinner and receive the prize of $1000 and a certificate.
  • This Prize is funded by the APSA.

Past Winners:

2023: Daniel Casey, “Democratic responsiveness to different forms of opinion

Highly commended: Mark Riboldi, “The Loci of Power and Connection” 

Highly commended: Jieun S. Park, “Love or Hated?” 

2022: Ernest Mensah Akuamoah, “‘It’s US against Them’: Populist Rule and Electoral Violence”

Highly commended: Sofia Ammasari, “Less active, less ambitious: Stigmatisation and participation in populist radical right parties” 

2021: Michael Kumove, “Imagining the ‘Other’: How does outgroup trust affect generalised trust?”

Highly commended: Simran Keshwani, ‘Creating a renewables giant: the rise of national champions in India’s solar sector’

2020: James Hayne, ‘ Media Coverage of Opinion Polling: Does the Media Favour Historically Accurate Pollsters?

2019: Jordan McSwiney, ‘Social Networks and Digital Organisation: Far Right Parties at the 2019 Australian Federal Election.’

2018: Prudence Brown, ‘We Can’t Live on a Piece of Paper – pragmatism and innovation in parks policy in the Northern Territory.’

2017: Jiye Kim, ‘Disputed Waters, Contested Norms: China’s bargaining capability in the South China Sea disputes.’

2016: Trang Dand, ‘From ‘high watermark’ to low ebb? How Aboriginal rights debates in Australia have informed land reform policies in the Northern Territory.’

2015: Sean Barry, ‘Gillard’s clean energy future package – paradigm change minus valence equals failure

2014: Tu Phuong Nguyen, ‘Rethinking state-labour relations in Vietnam: New institutional dynamics in resolving labour disputes.’