Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is made in recognition of exceptional achievement and contributions to political studies of one of its members, and in recognition of exceptional service to the Association. 

It is awarded under special circumstances following a recommendation to the Executive Committee by any member of APSA.

Call for Nominations 2020 

  • Call for Nominations – Friday 22 May 2020
  • Closing Date for Nominations – Friday 26 June 2020
  • Winner Announcement – APSA 2020 AGM
  • Commission of Winner’s Trophy  – APSA 2021 Annual Conference Dinner

Nomination Guidelines

  • The Award is given in recognition of a lifetime’s achievement. Normally, the nominated individual would no longer be in full-time employment or actively serving on the APSA Executive.
  •  There is no requirement to make an annual award.
  • ‘Achievement’ admits of no fixed definition but, normally, the individual will have made a significant contribution to the development of political studies in Australia and command an international reputation. Thus, and as an example only, we would expect the successful nominee to have published at least two internationally significant books over the course of his or her career.
  • ‘Service’ admits of no fixed definition, but normally, the individual will have given significant and/or exceptional service to the Association, including the AJPS.
  • Nominations must include both a statement of the case for the award and the CV of the nominated individual. This can include testimony from a variety of individuals, which is encouraged. Continued active service to APSA will also be looked upon favorably.
  • The decision will be made by a sub-committee chaired by the current President of APSA. Past winners will be encouraged to participate in the judging process for future awards.
  • The sub-committee may at its discretion seek advice on the standing, national and international, of any nominee.
  •  APSA will name only the winner, not the nominees.
  •  The winner will be invited to attend the annual dinner, expenses paid, to receive the award.
  • Life membership of APSA is automatically conferred to recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Recipients of the APSA Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Professor Don Aitkin AO, FASSA
  • Professor Bruce Davis 
  • Professor David Goldsworthy 
  • Professor Murray Goot FASSA
  • Professor Leslie Holmes FASSA
  • Professor Colin Hughes, FASSA
  • Professor Dean Jaensch AO
  • Professor Carol Johnson FASSA
  • Professor Trevor Matthews 
  • Professor Henry Mayer AM, FASSA
  • Professor Ian McAllister, FASSA
  • Emeritus Professor Marian Sawer AO, FASSA
  • Professor Pat Weller AO, FASSA