Workshop Funding Application

2021 APSA Workshop Funding Application

APSA provides funding each year to assist with the running of two or more eligible workshops proposed by APSA members at their respective Universities.

The maximum amount applicants can apply for in 2021 is $15,000. 

Applications must be received by COB Friday 20 November 2020 (Melbourne Time). All applicants will be notified of the outcome of their applications in mid-December, 2020. 

For any further enquiries, please contact the APSA National Office

Recent winners of the APSA annual workshop funding 


  • Public policy and Indigenous futures – Prof Sarah Maddison (Melbourne) and Dr Nikki Moodie (Melbourne)
  • The ‘worldmaking’ power of borders and contemporary politics – Dr Christine Agius (Swinburne); Dr Samid Suliman (Griffith) and Dr Umut Ozguc (UNSW)
  • Beyond Constitutional Laws: The Soft Rules of GovernanceDr Zim Nwokora (Deakin); Dr Narelle Miragliotta (Monash) and Dr Nicholas Barry (La Trobe)
  • Political Organisations and the Crisis of Liberal Democracy – Dr Glenn Kefford (Queensland); Prof Duncan McDonnell (Griffith) and Dr Erin O’Brien (QUT)


  • Katrina Lee-Koo and Zareh Ghazarian (Monash University) workshop on ‘The gendered dynamics of Australia’s political leadership culture‘. 
  • Prue Brown, Lorraine Cherney and Sarah Warner (University of Queensland) workshop on ‘Public value: what is it, who decides, and has it changed over time?‘.
  • Cassandra Star (Flinders University), Jonathan Pickering (University of Canberra) and Rebecca Pearse (University of Sydney) workshop on ‘Transforming Australia’s resource and energy governance’.


  • Siobhan O’Sullivan (UNSW), Paul Fawcett (University of Canberra), Tim Legrand (ANU) and Prof Jenny Lewis (University of Melbourne) workshop on ‘Pedagogy and public policy: insights into the practice of teaching public policy, and latest research in field‘.
  • Sarah Maddison (University of Melbourne) and Elizabeth Strakosh (University of Queensland) workshop on ‘Whose politics and which science? rethinking the discipline in the context of Australian settler colonial relationships‘.
  • Michael Clarke (ANU), Matthew Sussex (ANU) and Nick Bisley (La Trobe) workshop on ‘The belt and road initiative and the future of regional order in the Indo-Pacific‘. 
  • Louise Chappell (UNSW), Nicole George (University of Queensland) and Fiona Mackay (University of Edinburgh) workshop on ‘Understanding and addressing institutionalised gender inequality through a feminist institutionalist approach‘.


  • Abigail Taylor (University of Sydney) and Robin Rodd (James Cook University) workshop on ‘The figure of the citizen in times of crisis: Disappearing, emerging and reimagined


  • Ariadne Vromen (University of Sydney), Darren Halpin (ANU) and Anika Gauja (University of Sydney) workshop on ‘Political Organisations and Participation in the Digital Age
  • Marian Sawer (ANU), Kerryn Baker (ANU) and Kirsty McLaren (ANU) workshop on ‘Gendered innovation in political science

For any further enquiries, please contact the APSA National Office