Carole Pateman Gender and Politics Book Prize

Carole Pateman Gender and Politics Book Prize is awarded biennially to the best book on gender and politics, broadly defined.

Carole Pateman Gender and Politics Book Prize

Carole Pateman Gender and Politics Book Prize Guideline

  • Call for Nominations 
  • Closing Date for Nominations – call for 2023 nominations is closed
  • Commission of Winner’s Award 

The Carole Pateman Gender and Politics Book Prize is awarded on a biennial basis, alternating with the Thelma Hunter Gender and Politics PhD Prize.

Nomination Guidelines

  • The nomination is open to book-length monographs by an APSA current financial member, who may be of any gender identification (if the book has multiple authors, one of the authors must be an APSA current financial member). The monograph may be single- or jointly-authored, however edited collections are not eligible.
  • A call for nominations will be circulated to members of APSA and to the major publishers operating in Australia. Any publisher may nominate one book for consideration, and a book may only be submitted once for the prize. Authors can self-nominate or be nominated by another person.
  • The Prize is awarded to the best book gender and politics that has been published by a university or commercial publisher in the preceding two years (e.g. The prize awarded in 2023 will be for a book published in 2022 or 2021, year of publication being the year stated in the book). Criteria on which entries will be judged include:
    • Significance of contribution to gender and politics research through effective incorporation of gender or feminist perspectives into political science.
    • Excellence in writing and communication.
    • Scholarly innovation and rigor.
  • To enter, please complete the Carole Pateman Gender and Politics Book Prize Nomination Form and email with a PDF or four electronic copies (if your copies are download codes or eBooks) of the nominated book to the APSA National Office at: by the announced due date. Please do not submit anything until the call for nominations is announced.

Judging Process

  • The decision will be made by a judging panel chaired by an APSA Women’s Caucus Executive member (or delegate). The panel will consist of at least three judges (including the chair), all are APSA current financial members, with at least two other gender and politics experts in addition to the chair. Past winners will be encouraged to participate in the judging process for future awards.
  • Members of judging panels should adhere to the Guidance on Identifying and Managing Conflicts of Interest. If the Chair of a judging panel has a significant conflict of interest, they must relinquish their position as Chair to one of the other panellists.
  • APSA reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year.

Award Details

  • The winner will be invited to attend the Association’s AGM & Prize Ceremony and receive the prize of $1000 and a certificate.
  • This Prize is funded by the APSA.

Past Winners:

2023 joint winners: Kcasey McLoughlin, Law, Women Judges and the Gender Order (Routledge)

Sachiyo Tsukamoto, The Politics of Trauma and Integrity: Stories of Japanese Comfort Women (Routledge)

2021 winner: Kerryn Baker, Australian National University, Pacific Women in Politics: Gender Quota Campaigns in the Pacific Islands (University of Hawaii Press)

2019 winner: Laura J. Shepherd, University of Sydney, Gender, UN Peacebuilding and the Politics of Space: Locating Legitimacy (Oxford University Press)

2017 winnerLouise Chappell, University of NSW, The Politics of Gender Justice at the International Criminal Court: Legacies and Legitimacy (Oxford University Press)

2015 winner: Jacqui True, Monash University, The Political Economy of Violence Against Women (Oxford University Press)

Past Winners of Women and Politics Prize 1982 – 2016:

2016 winner: Freya Jensens, ‘Suit of power: Fashion, politics and hegemonic masculinity in Australia’, AJPS 54 (2): 2002–218.

2012 winner: Ryl Harrison, ‘Women in Political leadership: coming so far to fail’

2010 winner: Katherine Curchin, ‘Pakeha Women and Maori Protocol: The Politics of Criticising Other Cultures’, AJPS 46 (3): 375–388.

2008 winner: Nina Hall, ‘East Timorese Women Challenge Domestic Violence’, AJPS 44 (2): 309–25.

2006 winner: Anna Boucher, ‘Skill, migration and gender in Australia and Canada: The case of gender-based analysis’, AJPS 42 (3): 383-401.

2004 winner: Tania Domett, ‘Soft power in global politics: Diplomatic partners as transversal actor’, AJPS 40 (2): 289-306.

2001 winner: Katrina Lee Koo, ‘Confronting a Disciplinary Blindness: Women, War and Rape in the International Politics of Security’, AJPS 37 (3): 525–36

1999 winner: Natasha Cortis, ‘Gender and the Re-evaluation of Human Service Work: Pay Equity in New South Wales’, AJPS 35 (1) 49–62.

1997 winner: Sharon Broughton and Sonia Palmieri, ‘Gendered Contributions to Parliamentary Debates: The Case of Euthanasia’, AJPS 34 (1): 29–45.

1995 winner: Helen Irving, ‘Equal Opportunity, Equal Representation and Equal Rights: What Republicanism offers to Australian Women’, AJPS 31 (1): 37–50.

1993 winner: Susan Blackburn, ‘Gender Interests and Indonesian Democracy’, AJPS 29 (3): 556–74.

1991 winner: Tony Smith, ‘Gumshoes or Galoshes? The Case of Contemporary Australian Women Crime Writers’

1989 winner: Prize not awarded, two entries highly commended: Meg Montague, ‘At a Snail’s Pace: The Development of Policy towards a Women’s Employment Strategy in Victoria’ and K. V. Blake, ‘The Government of Reason’.        

1986 winner: Ann Villiers, ‘Legislating for Women’s Rights and Conservative Rhetoric—Lessons for Feminists’, Australian Quarterly 59 (2): 128–44.

1984 winner: Clare Burton, ‘Public and Private Concerns in Academic Institutions’ Politics 20 (1): 59–64. and

Desley Deacon, ‘State Formation, The New Middle Class and the Dual Labour Market: Women Clerks in an Australian Bureaucracy 1880–1930’, published as ‘Australian Bureaucracy 1880–1930 and the Dual Labour Market’, Australian Quarterly 57 (1&2): 32–46.

1983 winner : Desley Deacon, ‘Political Arithmetic: The Nineteenth Century Census and the Construction of the Dependent Woman’, Signs 11 (1): 27–47. Reprinted in Barbara Laslett et al, Gender and Scientific Authority Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.

1982 winner: Sara Dowse, ‘The Women’s Movement’s Fandango with the State’, Australian Quarterly 54 (4): 324–45. Reprinted in Cora V, Baldock and Bettina Cass (eds) Women, Social Welfare and the State in Australia, Sydney, Allen & Unwin, 1983; 2nd edn 1988.