APSA ANZSOG Policy Studies Prize

ANZSOG Policy Studies Prize is awarded annually to the best peer reviewed paper by postgraduate or early career researcher with a policy studies focus.

This Prize is made possible by generous support from ANZSOG. ANZSOG is owned by and works for the governments of Australia and New Zealand to lift the quality of public sector leadership.

ANZSOG Policy Studies Prize 2021 (TBA)

  • Call for Nominations 
  • Closing Date for Nominations 
  • Commission of Winner’s Award 

ANZSOG Policy Studies Prize is administered by the Policy Studies Research Group.  

Nomination Guidelines:  

  • The Prize is awarded to the best peer reviewed article, with a Policy Studies (public policy, social policy, public management, governance) focus, accepted by a journal in the previous calendar year.
  • To be eligible for the prize, the author must be a postgraduate or early career researcher (within their first five years postdoc, however, we are happy to accommodate significant career interruptions). He/She must also be working or studying at an Australian university (or working outside the higher education sector for those who are between academic appointments).
  • Submissions should include a digital copy of the paper, along with a 100 word statement about the reason for the nomination. It should be sent to the Chair of the APSA Policy Studies Research Group, by the announced due date.

Judging Process:

  • The decision will be made by a judging panel chaired by the Chair of the Policy Studies Research Group. The panel will consist of two members on behalf of ANZSOG and two Policy Studies Research Group members, with at least one female-identifying Policy Studies scholar and one male-identifying Policy Studies scholar. Other diversities are strongly encouraged.
  • Authors or co-authors of papers under consideration will not be eligible to participate in the judging panel. Members of judging panels should adhere to the Guidance on Identifying and Managing Conflicts of Interest. If the Chair of a judging panel has a significant conflict of interest, they must relinquish their position as Chair to one of the other panellists.
  • The Policy Studies Research Group reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year.

Award Details

  • The winner will be invited to attend the Association’s annual conference dinner and receive the prize of $1000 and a certificate.
  • This Prize is funded by ANZSOG.

Past Winners:

2020 winner: Lancaster, K., Rhodes, T., & Rance, J. (2019) “Towards eliminating viral hepatitis”: Examining the productive capacity and constitutive effects of global policy on hepatitis C elimination. International Journal of Drug Policy, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.drugpo.2019.02.008

2019 winner (joint award):

  • Dr. Prudence Brown, ‘Understanding barriers to new approaches – a case study from Australian remote indigenous policy‘.
  • Catherine Cochrane, ‘Boundary making in anti-corruption policy: Behaviour, responses and institutions‘.